Finally Found Support!

Hey, y’all!

So, I think I mentioned in a previous post that I didn’t have a lot of support for my decision to apply for the Peace Corps.  Out of everyone I know, the only people who seem to be excited for me are a cantankerous old doctor (who I ardently admire), and another young doctor in her residency who almost went (she was assigned a country, but was unable to leave and had to decline)!  Well, that changed today, because I (uncharacteristically) reached out to someone I had attended high school with for a short amount of time, and asked her to join me for coffee a few days ago.  Well, we met up today and I’m happy to report that I had a FANTASTIC time!  I usually don’t like to approach someone first, it really makes me nervous, but how could I resist when we have so much in common?  I’m so glad I now have someone my own age to go through this process with.  It was awesome being able to answer some of her questions, because as I’ve stated before, I am a research machine.  A tried and true nerd on crazy weird levels.  Yup – That’s me!  And in return, she shared some of her hysterical stories from the times when she was an Au Pair in Germany!

Anyway, that’s about it.  I did end up sending an email to the Lodging and Hospitality Association of Montana in order to find some internships out of state.  I want to travel if I can, so why not get paid for it, am I right? 🙂  I’m planning on sending more emails about where to find internships in Louisiana, South Carolina, Virginia, and Georgia later.  But for now, I’m going to see how this email turns out.  Hopefully it isn’t tacky to ask for information on where to find internships… I’ll keep y’all updated.

Well, it’s 11:05 right now, and I’m an old lady!  Have a good night everyone! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Finally Found Support!

  1. Congrats on your commitment to apply to the Peace Corps. The Peace Corps website has resources and contacts that may be helpful for you. I encourage you to get in contact with a recruiter through the website if you don’t have one in your area. There are also blogs (on wordpress and other sites) of current and recent volunteers. Most current volunteers would love to hear from a prospective volunteer. Best wishes.

    1. Hey! Thank you very much! I do frequent peacecorps.gov and I’ve met with my recruiter, April, so no worries, there! I do take my research seriously! The only reason I haven’t started my application yet is because I don’t know if I’m doing my internship (required for graduation) this summer or next fall.

      Thanks for the comment! 🙂

Leave a comment